I’ve been reflecting on a winter garden, and Aerogarden review

 

Snowdoor.jpg
There is a door to the shop here. You can see the archway, still wrapped in lights, to the right. That was fun to clean. Photo was taken Feb 14th.

It’s been a really long break from updates, and without any warning. I will apologize for that now. There’s been a multitude of things going on in the background that have been preventing me from finding time to post. By bedtime Sunday night, I realize “Oh my god, I forgot to get a post lined up for tomorrow!”

I was supposed to do a post every two weeks and I’ve been inundated with numerous headaches I like to call bad weather and SNOW.

I’ve also been working like a madwoman on my business, so after spending an hour or two looking at excel worksheets and word documents, I kind of have googley eyes and don’t want to talk about gardening, because I feel flooded with the promise of new business possibilities that I need to focus on right now. But now, all the seeding plans and agendas are drawn up and now, in the mean time, I can wait a bit, and think about what I’ve got planned for the garden. After all, all I’ve got to do right now is wait for the garden to reveal itself again, and wait for seeds to show up in the mailbox.

I had been mooning longingly at that turning circle drawing all summer, all fall, and at least a bit of early winter. But the heartbreak set in this past week when I saw the possibility of snow damage present itself following the little triplet storm we had in the last week and a half. Somehow, magically, unexpectedly, and apparently randomly, a rogue backhoe came along, cleaning my neighbor’s driveway and dumped their snow harvest right on top of mine, which then proceeded to spill over into my turning circle. Let’s think about the casualties at risk here (and the ones that occurred). That hedge I imaginarily planted? It’s been crushed. I have three beautiful sumac trees in this circle too. They are a pain when they sucker, yes, but they gave it a very tropical feel. They look beautiful when their fruit clusters hold snow. But they are weak, and this giant snow pile has broken one of the trees right down to the trunk.

Moving along to the front side of the garden, I did account for about 6 feet of space to allow for snow dumpage. I think I now should consider the possibility of 10 feet.

And furthermore, our turning circle will hold a LOT of snow, and it doubles when we have snow drifts. Most of that snow is blown either into bird city or the turning circle. More burial.

See where I’m going with this? This turning circle, aside from the tall trees, has absolutely no winter interest whatsoever, amid a very snowy winter. So now I have to make adjustments to my design to contain more perennials that die back to the crown every year. Unfortunately, perennials require more work, division, etc.

So It’s something else for me to think about while sitting here waiting for the gardens to thaw.

 

 

Aero2.jpg
That was a pretty delicious pesto. Since I’ve cut the basil back, I’ve got almost enough to make a second batch. Carefully harvesting your basil not only provides a second crop, but it also encourages them to bush out!

I thought I would also share a review of Aerogarden, since I mentioned previously that I had started mine up again.

It’s an awesome thing to be able to grow enough basil to make a batch of pesto in the middle of winter. I think that day at lunch time, every person in the room noted that it smelled so good!

So does it work, can you get a good yield of something from it? Yes you can! The cilantro is the next thing I’ll be harvesting, possibly for some pad thai garnishing. And if you cut your herbs back carefully, you can probably get a few more yields from them.  My parsley is a bit of a slowpoke, but it will also be big enough to harvest as needed for numerous recipes.

I didn’t plant any veggies in it, because like I said before, it’s tough to keep them growing healthy in a small rig like this. My tomato plants kept falling down the side of the garden, breaking, and sending up a side shoot. I wasn’t able to get any yield from them.

 

The light will “last” for about a year according to the unit, which has been flashing to change the light bulb for the last 2 years. It doesn’t seem to have any diminished effect. So I say, keep it going for a while, even if your Aerogarden begs to differ.

You can get replenishment of the lightbulbs, fertilizer, filters, and medium easily!

So what do you think? It’s a very cool thing to have in the winter, especially if you like a fresh harvest of herbs.

I’ll try to pull my socks up and blog more frequently again.

I want to really purchase and review something new. Something I’ve never used before. A WORM BIN! I’ve got this one in mind. Worm castings make beautiful top dressing for houseplants. It’s the real black gold.

Till next week! (Hopefully!)

Leave a Reply

