It’s fall! Or fwinter! Dig out your books! Or try one of these…

 

20161112_202548.jpg
Get cozy and cuddle up to those plants!

Brr! The air sure has chilled off since the last time I posted an update. I made a previous mention of a cozy season I like to call “fwinter” that season between Halloween and Christmas. Time to pull out your warm fluffy blanket (the one that has magical powers to evoke a sense of happy sleepiness) and a few favorite gardening books to ease yourself back indoors.

So today, I’ll feature my go-to books that I enjoy reading over and over, are useful, and that I fully recommend to anyone, new, or experienced to gardening!

 


Book 1: The Canadian Gardener: A Guide to Gardening in Canada

I just flipped through this book one day while visiting a friend. Someone I know bought it from a used book sale. The writing in this book… I can only describe it as delicious. Marjorie Harris has a beautiful writing style, and it is both a pleasure to read as well as very informative. This is a great book for a beginner to pick up, as it has beautiful and inspirational photographs of gardens across Canada, including all zones, even us zone 5 dwellers(and colder!). I couldn’t get enough of it, and so I bought a copy for myself. I keep it handy, when I’m looking for inspiration or need to restore my longing for being outdoors. The book encompasses topics from tools you need (and don’t need), basics of natural, organic and sustainable gardening, how to plant, what to plant (and what not to plant!), and it breaks down the second part of the book into zones, featuring gardens that really make a person believe in their local climate. It could either be a great coffee table book or a good one to just read on a snowy day. I just love it, I know most of the information contained within, but it’s just a fantastic read. Since buying this book, I’ve purchased others, and have a great respect for the writing and gardening she has shared. /gush


Book 2: The Year-Round Vegetable Gardener: How to Grow Your Own Food 365 Days a Year, No Matter Where You Live

This is a perfect reference book for someone who wants to grow and harvest year round. It’s not just that though. It’s a goldmine of information, and it’s a really great book for someone who seems to have a lot of books about vegetables (trust me, I do, and I need to let them go). This book has a profile on just about every type of vegetable you’d want to grow, along with recommendations on favorite varieties, when to plant them, and when they’d be ready for harvest. I feel as though I’ve set up an entire command center on some days, planning seeding dates to ensure I had something good to pull out of the ground in the fall. There is also some instructable section with some basic plans for raised cold frames and garden designs. It’s a great book for the veggie gardener. The best part is this focuses on cold climate growing, so don’t think you can’t grow year round just because you have snow on the ground. I can’t say enough, and I know I am a voice in a crowd cheering this one on.

 


Book 3: All New Square Foot Gardening, Second Edition: The Revolutionary Way to Grow More In Less Space

This is another excellent reference book that I love next to the Year Round Garden. This one is for a more space-sensitive situation. If you have a limited area, this book will tell you exactly how to maximize your productivity and efficiency by planting things in increments of one square foot. I’ve played with this concept quite a bit, and I use it as a guideline for how close together I can plant things. I’ve got the original edition, so there are a few things that are probably lacking that newer editions may include today. You can branch out from here via pinterest or other garden websites who have determined the spacing of other plants too with the knowledge you’ve gained from this book. There is also cultural information on how to take care of these plants, such as sowing times, planting out times and so on. This would be a great gift idea for any young vegetable gardener with a garden plot, or anyone who doesn’t think they have room to grow vegetables. Did you know you can grow 4 heads of lettuce in just one square foot?

This concludes my book recs for this round. I’ll let you get to some reading and catch up! Next week I’ll do a complete wind-down post of EVERYTHING I planted in 2016 (not just the veggies). Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

